abdullahsaeedmtv

Just another WordPress.com site

Flying Lotus Goes R&B with Jose James

People who love Flying Lotus’ instrumental work wouldn’t expect him to tone down the abstraction, but that’s exactly what he’s doing in his collaboration with a vocalist with a pretty straightforward singing style.

Photo credit: Flying Lotus/MySpace

Jose James is a half Irish, half Panamanian soul singer who got his break from Gilles Peterson, getting signed to the venerable Brownswood Recordings in 2001. His releases have embodied the usual sounds of neo-soul; jazzy rhythm lines, Rhodes organ, etc. All of a sudden, James is collaborating with one of the most lauded experimental beat producers today. The beat Flying Lotus crafted for James’ song “Vicadin” is a jump back to the more accessible sounds of his 2006 Plug Research release 1983. It’s an interesting project undertaken by a producer whose signing to Warp Records accelerated his penchant for abstraction.

The beat is slow, melodious and down right nasty. Jose James lays down some nice vocals, but I can admit that he wouldn’t be on my radar if it wasn’t for this collaboration. Can we expect a full length release from this duo in 2011? We’ll just have to wait and see.

Have a listen to the track here.

Written by M

January 13, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Posted in Music

Tagged with , , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shifting Dimensions – Jose Jaramillo “Between 2 Worlds” pt 2…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. Shifting Dimensions – Jose Jaramillo “Between 2 Worlds” pt4…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  3. Columbus Crew striker Steven Lenhart joins San Jose Earthquakes…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

    FIFA Wold Cup News

    January 15, 2011 at 7:39 pm

  4. El Salvador’s Jose Alvares (L) vies for the ball with Nicaragua’s Felix Zeledon…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

    FIFA Wold Cup News

    January 15, 2011 at 11:14 pm

  5. Pirates To Sign Jose Veras…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

    L'Express Media

    January 16, 2011 at 8:21 pm


Comments are closed.

